WhatsApp has a blocking feature to block unknown persons and contacts. But there is no direct way to know if you are blocked or not on WhatsApp. If a person blocks you on WhatsApp, you won’t get any notifications or pings. If you’re so curious, here are the simple techniques to know if someone blocked you on WhatsApp.
There are few methods or signs to know whether your friend/any person blocked you or not
- Check last seen
- View display picture
- Verify tick mark
- Make a call
- Check WhatsApp Status
- Try adding them to a group
Check Last Seen Visibility
The Last seen was found below the username of the contact. It displays the time and date of the person lastly active on WhatsApp. If it doesn’t appear to you, it is a sign that the person may have blocked your profile.
But only with the last seen info, we cannot conclude that the person has blocked you. It can also happen when the person has set the last seen privacy settings to Nobody.
Check Display Picture
If the person has blocked you, you can’t view their Display picture or Profile Picture. If the person’s display picture remains blank for a long time, it is another potential sign to show that you are blocked.
Like the above method, you can’t conclude with a display picture. The user may have set the picture privacy settings to Nobody or may have removed the profile picture.
Verify the Tick Mark
If a person blocks you while chatting, you can quickly identify it with the tick mark near the text message. If the tick mark goes from a double blue tick to a single grey tick while chatting, or else if your message remains in a single grey tickmark for a long time, it indicates that the person may have blocked your profile.
Even you can’t take this to conclude that they have blocked you. Because it may also occur due to poor internet connection, being offline, or disabling the read receipts on WhatsApp.
Make a WhatsApp Call
WhatsApp Audio and video calls are end-to-end encrypted calls that can be made when the caller and receiver are on good terms. If you try to call a person from WhatsApp who has blocked your profile, you will be shown a pop-up stating, “This call is secured with end-to-end encryption. No one outside of this call can view or listen to it. Not even WhatsApp.” It occurs mostly because of blocking.
Even when there is poor internet connectivity, there is a probability that this pop-up to occur. Hence you can’t conclude with this too.
Check WhatsApp Status
If he/she has blocked you on WhatsApp, you can’t get any status updates from the profile. You can use this hack to check if someone is blocked you or not. To take a step further, ask your mutual friend about their (blocked person’s) status.
However, WhatsApp has a dedicated feature to hide status without blocking. So, you can’t be sure with this method.
Add them to a WhatsApp Group
Create a WhatsApp group and add he/she who fits all the above-mentioned scenarios or the person you have doubted. If you’re not able to add them to that group, it clearly states that the person has blocked you on WhatsApp.
Even this method is not a guaranteed one. If the user changes the default Group settings, you can’t add a person to a group.
Using Third-party Apps
If you are bold enough, you can call the concerned person offline and ask them if they blocked you or not.
These are some of the quick tips to know whether someone has blocked you on WhatsApp or not. But sometimes, uninstalling WhatsApp, deleting a WhatsApp account, or changing a WhatsApp number may also result in inactivity on WhatsApp. So be sure whether the person blocked you or not before judging them.
No, you can’t. This kind of feature is not available on WhatsApp. But you can unblock a contact on WhatsApp which you have blocked before.