How ToSocialWhatsapp

How to Turn Off Read Receipts on WhatsApp [Android & iOS]

Disable read receipts on WhatsApp within a few seconds.

Key Highlights

  • Android: SettingsAccountPrivacyRead receiptsTurn off.
  • iPhone/iPad: Settings → Account → Privacy → Read receipts → Turn off.

WhatsApp is the widely trusted social media app used among people worldwide. With the new updates on WhatsApp frequently, the platform is keen on improving the privacy features for users. One of the best privacy features on WhatsApp is the Read Receipts. If you have concerns about your privacy and want to avoid letting the users know whether you have received the messages or not, you can turn off the Read Receipts on WhatsApp.

How to Turn Off Read Receipts on WhatsApp: Android

[1] Open the WhatsApp application on your Android smartphone.

[2] Tap the three-dotted icon in the top right of the screen.

[3] Tap Settings and select Account from the list.

[4] Next, tap Privacy under Account.

Choose Privacy option

[5] Now, turn off the Read receipts toggle by tapping it.

tap the toggle to turn off Read Receipts on WhatsApp

Tips! By chatting with yourself on WhatsApp, you can use it as a note-taking app on your Android and iPhone.

How to Turn Off Read Receipts on WhatsApp: iPhone/iPad

[1] Launch the WhatsApp app on your iPhone/iPad and tap Settings at the bottom.

[2] From Settings, tap Account.

[3] Under Account, choose Privacy.

Choose Accounts option

[4] Now, tap the Read Receipts toggle to turn it off.

tap the toggle to turn off Read Receipts on WhatsApp

[5] To turn on the Read receipt option, tap the toggle again.

Note: Disabling the Read Receipt will not impact group chat and voice messages.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Can you able to check who has blocked me on WhatsApp?

If you have been blocked by someone on WhatsApp, you can notice by some indications. You can’t be able to check the last seen of the person, can’t view the changes on the profile photo, unable to send messages, or make a call to the person.

2. What does turning off your read receipts do?

When you turn off the read receipts, the blue tick will not appear, so the sender will not know whether you have opened and read their messages.

Was this article helpful?
YesNo

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Close

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker